780-492-1861 | 780-492-7705 | tlowary@ualberta.ca

Todd L. Lowary received his B.A. in Chemistry from the University of Montana in 1988 and obtained his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry under the supervision of Professor Ole Hindsgaul at the University of Alberta in 1993. He carried out postdoctoral research with Professor David R. Bundle at the University of Alberta (1993-1995), and then with Dr. Morten P. Meldal at the Carlsberg Laboratory in Copenhagen, Denmark (1995-1996).


In 1996, he took a position in The Department of Chemistry at The Ohio State University as an Assistant Professor and in 2002 was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. He was the I Raymond U. Lemieux Professor of Carbohydrate Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry from 2015–2021 and held a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair from 2014–2019. He retired from the University of Alberta in July 2021. Since July 2019 he has been a Distinguished Research Fellow at the Institute of Biological Chemistry at Academia Sinica in Taipei, Taiwan and he also serves as the Director of the Institute.

Awards and Recognitions


  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers
  • Ohio State University Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching


  • Horace S. Isbell Award from the Carbohydrate Division of the American Chemical Society


  • E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship from NSERC
  • Chemistry Students Association Teaching Excellence Award
  • Selected as a member of “Faculty of 1000” Biology www.facultyof1000.com


  • Co-chair, Gordon Conference of Carbohydrates
  • Carbohydrate Research Award for Creativity in Carbohydrate Chemistry


  • Richard E. Juday Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, The University of Montana


  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science


  • Faculty of Science Award for Excellent Teaching
  • Elected a Fellow of the American Chemical Society
  • Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering from NSERC


  • Bernard Belleau Award of the Canadian Society for Chemistry
  • Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Chinese Academy of Science Visiting Professorship


  • Melville L. Wolfrom Award from the Carbohydrate Division of the American Chemical Society


  • Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Carbohydrate Chemistry (2014–2021)
  • Instructor Appreciation Night Award from the Interdepartmental Science Students Society (teaching award)


  • ASTech Outstanding Leadership in Alberta Science Award
  • Raymond U. Lemieux Chair in Carbohydrate Chemistry (2015–2020)


  • J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research (University of Alberta)
  • Visiting Professor, Institute of Biological Chemistry, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan


  • University Cup (University of Alberta)


  • Alfred Bader Award of the Canadian Society for Chemistry


  • Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award of the American Chemical Society
  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

Editorial Boards

January 1997–December 2016
Carbohydrate Research

January 2010–December 2015
Advances in Carbohydrate Chemistry and Biochemistry

January 2011–Present

November 2013–Present
Frontiers in Chemical Biology

July 2014–Present
Journal of Biological Chemistry

January 2018–Present
Journal of the Chinese Chemical Society

Scroll to Top